New migraine treatment in the works 

Couple of months ago I mentioned a new migraine preventive in development involving CGRP antibodies (calcitonin gene-related peptide). So it looks like 4 drug companies have drugs in development at this point. These will be injectables that will be administered about once a month and promise to reduce frequency of your migraines by about half. Not bad, eh? 

I would be first in line to be honest so the question we all usually ask is how much will the few pain free days cost me? Well, I advise you to sit down for this one because it is a big one. The price tag will be around $8500 US. Now that is a bit hard to swallow if you ask me. I had issues with the $1000 a pop for Botox every 3-4 months. And for me Botox works well, usually well enough that I don’t even need a preventive.

Now don’t get me wrong, I completely understand why they are asking the 8500, antibodies are not easy to manufacture. They are not easy to develop, test and get approved. But I still have an issue with pricing a medication for such a common condition, affecting millions of people, usually people that don’t have insurance or income high enough to afford basic necessities, so unreasonably.  

I was in a situation in my life when I did not have insurance and I thought twice if I would take that Imitrex because it cost me $40/pill. That is not the way it should be. Ok, rant over 😂

So let’s see, I am really excited and hopefully I will still have insurance by the time it comes out 😀. If anyone has been part of the trials please do share your experience, I would love to hear it. I was part of the group that brought Botox to migraine sufferers in Canada. 

Here is the link to the article about the pricing of the new medication: CGRP antibody medication pricing

Here is a link about CGRP antibodies for migraines: CGRP antibodies and migraines 

Leave a Reply

