New migraine treatment in the works

I don’t know how much you follow new treatments for migraine, but it is a very difficult disease to treat. If you think about it, it is kind of clear, by the lack of new treatments in, pretty much, forever. Well, apart from Botox. Other than triptans there really are no real treatments for migraine headaches and even those are not the best and cannot be used by everyone (people with heart issues, for example).
So I was going through my Twitter feed last week and came across this exciting article:

New treatment for migraine 
So these are antibodies, which is completely new game in migraine treatment. It would most likely come with a genetic screening to see if a patient would actually respond to the treatment (hallelujah) and would come as an injection every 3 months.

I don’t know about you, but I find this really exciting. Finally something! If they actually go through with all the studies (and don’t price it in such I way that I will have to sell my first born) this will truly be a breakthrough in migraine treatment. Well, if you are one of the lucky ones who will respond to the antibodies. But even if you are not, I think this just opened a whole new gate of treatments for us. I think times are about to change and we will no longer be forced to depend on triptans or the horrible painkillers… (OK, what is happening to me? I never sound this optimistic. ) 

Cannot wait! (As mentioned in the article, should be out in 2018)

One thought on “New migraine treatment in the works

  1. Pingback: New migraine treatment in the works  | Dose Of Zen

Leave a Reply

